Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys. A quick search showed that there hasn't been dash cam specific discussion on here is a little while so I thought I'd poke the proverbial sleeping bear.

The SO wants to get me a dash cam for Xmas and asked me to tell her exactly what I wanted. Well I have ZERO experience with dash cams so I thought I would come to you guys. Obviously the primary feature of a dash cam is having video documentation of anything that may happen while driving, and some units even while parked, but today dash cams come with a slew of different features in differing price points and I am really having a hard time wrapping my head around it all.

So what cam do you have and, more importantly, what features stand out to you as being especially beneficial (ie. front&rear facing, 1080p/4k video quality, GPS tracking, LTE connectivity, Bluetooth connectivity, shock sensing, etc). I am also trying to decide whether to get a unit with a built in screen or one that is a bit smaller and can connect to my phone. Finally has anyone had issues with dash cams interfering with Eyesight. Yes I am aware that it may or may not be degrading the effectiveness of the system (looking at you AK 馃槀) but has anyone had their Eyesight stop working out right as a result of dash cam placement? If so, please elaborate on your experience. I have been referencing the below image for anything I add to the windshield (though I am still having trouble finding that passenger side steering wheel for when the aforementioned SO tells me I am going the wrong way) but have seen plenty of people run cams and transponders in the "Prohibited Area" with seemingly no issue.

Thanks for any and all insight!

Dan

Registered
'18 and '19 Crosstrek Limiteds
Hi Guys. A quick search showed that there hasn't been dash cam specific discussion on here is a little while so I thought I'd poke the proverbial sleeping bear.