Subaru Crosstrek and XV Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Subaru and recently purchased a 2018 Crosstrek Limited with the Harman audio upgrade package and am having an array of annoying issues. Most of which are related to the USB ports.

Issue 1
The car comes with two USB ports. If I have a USB stick loaded with .mp3 files in one and my iPhone8 plugged into the other, you can't seem to switch between the two via the head unit. As soon as the phone is connected, CarPlay takes over and I have no option to play the USB stick. I can get back to the car menu, and hit the Media button, but the USB stick will not register if the phone is connected. Does anyone else seem to have that issue?

Issue 2
I have my USB stick loaded with .mp3 files. They are loaded by Artist>Album>Track. But no matter how I place the files on the stick, or how they are tagged in iTunes (or 3rd party .mp3 tagging apps) the head unit plays everything in alphabetical order! You can't listen to Dark Side of the Moon or Abbey Road in alphabetical track order! It's hugely frustrating. I've reached out to Subaru and Harman and they are telling me it's DESIGNED THAT WAY? Surely not? Anyone else have this issue??

·
Registered
2021 Crosstrek Limited
2,320 Posts
Numbers come before A-Z in ASCII. Burn all tracks in mp3 for the 2 CDs placing 00 to 16 in front of the song title. Copy it back to the USB stick. Good.luck.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Numbers come before A-Z in ASCII. Burn all tracks in mp3 for the 2 CDs placing 00 to 16 in front of the song title. Copy it back to the USB stick. Good.luck.