Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
624 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never really had much to complain about mileage wise but last night I was surprised to see I was only getting 25.5 MPG. The first time I reset before that I was getting 21.8. I'm assuming the -17° (Windchill) played a part, but I usually get anywhere between 29-33 MPG going to and from work. I'm gonna use fuelly app again next fill up and monitor. Another possible cause could be getting a car wash earlier in the day. Maybe iced something up. I'm no mechanic so just grasping at straws lol.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
As far as temperature is concerned, windchill only affects living stuff (e.g., you), not cars..... but if it's blowing that hard, it's likely wind resistance combined with the fact that colder air is more dense to begin with.

·
Registered
48 Posts
I can't seem to get above 25 mpg when the temperature gets below 40. Days like today when it's 0 out its even worse. When spring comes my 2014 XV will be back to 29 mpg. At least gas is cheap right now!

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
624 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I don't recall if it was windy or not last night. And I was 20 miles into a 40 mile trip so operating temps should've been ideal. I do get what you mean about short trips. I'd also be curious as to check tire pressures when temps dip. I'm sure even though the sensor light never came on, that they were still lower than normal.

·
Registered
2,595 Posts
General rule of thumb is 1 psi per 10 degree F. Tire pressure shouldn't have such noticeable difference to MPG. More likely electrical system (like heated seat?) to contribute to this drop than anything else. Also the on board MPG calculator can be inaccurate especially for short trips without a lot of data to average out.

·
Registered
19 Posts