Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I have a 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Premium 5MT with 63,000 miles. I'm also an Uber driver so I need my car for work.

Just a few hours ago I went to a friends place, my transmission and car felt just fine and normal and I parked the car. I went to go leave an hour later and when I went
To go put the car into reverse it refused to slide into gear so I thought maybe it was in a bad spot so I let the car move down the hill a little in neutral and tried again. This time
The gear got stuck and locked up all four wheels. When I let off the clutched it stalled and even pressing in the clutch (on a hill) the car would not move like all four wheels were
locked up. I finally got it out of gear by feathering the clutching and pulling on it and all the gear placements feel like they are in the wrong physical spot. I tried putting it in neutral
and it was not neutral it simply stalled like it was catching a gear but the car did not move at all. Then I placed it in reverse and the car moves forward like its in first gear but makes
horrible noises so I stopped doing anything thinking I might make it worse.

At this point I have had it towed to my house but I don't know what could be the issue. I know I'm going to have to take it to a shop but I would like to have an idea of what
caused this and what is broken in the transmission. I know a decent amount about cars but have never worked on transmissions. What do you guys think would cause this problem?

This is not the first time this transmission has had problems. First time was at 47,000 miles the first gear synchronize completely failed and I had to drive home from new york city to pittsburgh
with no first gear. Subaru fixed this under warranty. After they did this they failed and did not bolt it in fully and in the next 100 miles I heard the transmission shifting anytime