Subaru Crosstrek and XV Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am new to Subaru and just purchased a 2021 Crosstrek Hybrid. I have owned other plug-in hybrids/electrics, but this one had a new quirk. It has a spaceship sounds that only comes on when the (gas) engine is off and only when it's out of Park and only under 23mph or so.

I took it to the dealer and apparently, it's a "feature," so the car isn't "too quiet" at low speeds. How annoying. They said it's a speaker under the front bumper. I will go looking for it later.

I wonder if this is a California thing? The 2020 Prius Prime and 2018 Chevy Bolt don't have this at all.

My wife thought it was coming from an ambulance at first and I can't blame her. It's loader than the engine is (if it was on) at some speeds (~10-22mph). The dealer wasn't able to turn it off.

·
Needs a Butch car
2020 Crosstrek Premium
914 Posts
I wonder if this is a California thing? The 2020 Prius Prime and 2018 Chevy Bolt don't have this at all.
My parent's Prius does it. I think it's a '15.
I was told it'd for liability reasons because when in electric mode the Prius is too quiet. Not sure if that's true, but I didn't care enough to Google it.
Speaking of which - did you Google it?

·
Registered
2019 Crosstrek PHEV Lagoon Blue Pearl
115 Posts
Yes, we all have it. There is a high pitched static type woo woo sound for pedestrian warning when going slow, or even stopped, in gear. You will notice it at fast food drive-through windows. All Toyota hybrids have the same one.

EVs and Hybrids are nearly silent when going slow. I remember driving my Model 3 in an NFL parking lot where people tail gate...no one knew I was behind them as they slowly walked in the parking lot.

You will also hear electric deceleration sounds when slowing, etc. That's the EV system working...granted my Tesla doesn't make as much noise.

·
Registered
385 Posts