Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Non-stock 2015 Limited
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone! I’ve been a long time reader here but finally got around to my first real project with my XV.

I’ve taken my entire project and broken it into two separate forum posts since the people that may be interested in light bars may not necessarily care about ham radio antenna mounts. The link to my light bar installation is here:

http://www.subaruxvforum.com/forum/lighting-electrical/137393-slightly-over-engineered-light-bar-install.html

As someone that does a lot of camping and back-roads driving a, light bar has been on the list for a while. I’m also a licensed ham radio operator and have been contemplating adding a few NMO antenna mounts instead of messing around with magnet mounts that can scratch the paint on my roof.

Since both of these projects involve a significant amount of drilling, wiring, and dropping the headliner, I figured I’d combine the two and do some soundproofing as well.

Since the forums has plenty of how-to guides on sound proofing the XV, I’ll be skipping that piece altogether even though you’ll see some pieces show up in the photos.

Several parts of this project involved removing bolts that are safety-related and have factory torque specs for a reason. I highly encourage anyone trying to reproduce this same process go and spend the $34 USD to get the three-day Subaru Technical Information Service subscription. It really was a great resource to know where all of the odd clips were hiding and what torque specs to put fasteners back to after removing them:

https://techinfo.subaru.com/index.html

Similarly, a set of plastic interior removal tools (I used a Neiko 20598A set off of Amazon), a thorough metric (both standard and deep) socket set, and a sense of patience were invaluable in making this project work.

This Write-up:
1. Disassembly
2. NMO mount installation
3. Re-Assembly and Lessons Learned