Subaru Crosstrek and XV Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! I'm pretty new to the forum, not new to cars. As a quick preface I am a mechanical engineer, 21 sport, came from a 02 forester, and spend a lot of time doing CAD and in my garage. Probably too much time.

Anyways, I wanted to open up a discussion (mostly for my selfish self) about alternative methods of lifting and merging aftermarket suspension onto our cars. Gorilla Offroad, ADF, Kartboy, (the list goes on) are all fantastic companies (well the ones that produce quality parts. Rough Country, I'm looking at your welds) however I have always been interested in why no one has created a mount adapter for Fox/Bilstein/King style suspension.

It's a long read with a lot of detail so I do apologize, but I would love feedback.

Rear:

Arguable, this is pretty straightforward. My thoughts below;

• The rear is a multilink setup, so there is a very small amount of lateral loading put on the shock body and shaft.
  • This allows any aftermarket coilover to be installed, in theory.
  • By having the ability to install the components inverted, weight can be shaved off the unsprung mass (wheel side)
  • Having adapters such as these will allow easy re-valving, and easy replacement parts.
--Setups like Ironman4x4 are great, but they aren't quite as big as Fox or King, or any of the others.
- Relatively not that expensive. A set of coilovers that will lift the rear 1" are only around $300 each, plus springs. You're probably looking at a 10-20% premium on top of aftermarket, and double the cost of OEM replacement.

Front: