Subaru Crosstrek and XV Forums banner

New devices blow fuses - Accessory plugs (under center armrest & under A/C controls)

Model Years 2012 to 2017 
1K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  rlouie 
#1 ·
New devices blow fuses - Accessory plugs (under center armrest & under A/C controls)

I've been using phone chargers / GPS, etc devices for 4 years w/o problems. Recently I purchase a phone charger and an outlet multi-spliter. Both of these new devices quickly blow fuses (plugged in under center armrest &/or under A/C controls - 10a / 20a fuses) with NOTHING being plugged into them. AMP ratings are OK. Both new devices otherwise check out OK. The old devices continue to work OK. What could be the problem? Is there some new type of plug I need to avoid?

#2 ·
Congrats on your first post!

The design of these things basically hasn't changed for decades and fuses don't blow for reason at all. Typically, fuses blow when the device is drawing too much current and even though there is nothing connected to the two new devices, I suspect that they are doing just that.

How did you check out the two new devices to confirm that they are OKAY?

#3 ·
Hi Richard - Much thanks for your response! The 2 new devices work in other vehicles. One was checked by a pro mechanic (who also has electrical education). They don't have a short / pull 2a. The pro checked the harness & plug - couldn't figure out why the fuses were blown either. He said the devices should work, but to avoid trouble, recommended not using them. I didn't think the design has changed, so good to know. Some of the plugs are very slightly different vs the old (new have more metal contacts), but look like they should work OK. I guess I could spend a lot of time, $, etc to figure it out, but maybe best to just avoid the new devices. But, I am very uneasy that I don't have a solid root cause of the failure. Best - CTB,

#4 ·