Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I'm new to the thread and a little new to Subaru. I bought a used 2014 XV Crosstrek Hybrid Touring 2 years ago and I recently started having problems with the engine restart stop/start battery (front passenger side). I took it to the dealership and they said the battery is dead and I need to replace it but quoted me at about $800. I looked on the forum and found there were 2 cheaper battery options that people have used as a replacement. Has anyone had any long term experience good or bad with these 2 batteries??? Duracell Ultra Platinum AGM BCI Group S46B24R Car and Truck Battery https://www.batteriesplus.com/productdetails/sli51pagm or Optima 46B24R Prius Yellow Top Starting Battery OPT8171-767 https://www.batteriesplus.com/replacement/battery/optima/ds46b24r/opt8171=767

Does anyone know the actual specs of the Subaru battery replacement so I can compare it to the 2 cheaper battery options above? I can't seem to find them anywhere online and I hate to get a cheaper option if it won't work or will screw up the hybrid system.

This battery going dead makes me REALLYYYYYYYYY nervous about the large expensive battery in the trunk going dead......

·
Registered
12 Posts
I bought the Duracell from Batteries Plus. Had them replace the other battery at the same time. Shop stores though, it was cheaper at the store near my girlfriends house than it was here at home. I think it was near $300 for both batteries.

--md

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's good to know! I don't think I'll need to replace my other battery yet though. How long have you had your Duracell start/stop battery? Any problems?

·
Registered
12 Posts
It's been in the car for a little less than six months. No issues at all. The original batteries were four years old and I did notice some of the symptoms others were experiencing.

--md

·
Registered
2 Posts