Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So today I am driving my other car, I came out in the morning and battery was dead. A month ago I had car sitting for a week and battery was weak, but I did not think anything about it.
Today my Crosstrek (2016), after sitting for 5 days and temp dropping to 0 F, would not start because battery is completely dead. Are those Subaru batteries are that crappy?.

·
Super Moderator
1,264 Posts
I will start by saying Subaru does not make the batteries. Also, it is possible that you had a bad one that may have failed. That being said, many posts here mention the CCAs being fairly weak compared to other cars in this class. I'm no battery expert but maybe the weather is taking its toll on the battery.

Have you don't anything different lately? Run the car's electronics without the engine running or have any electrical modifications?

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

·
Registered
655 Posts
A couple of thoughts....

- ScubaSteve is correct about outsourcing batteries, although Subaru would have established the specifications for the part.
- It is possible that you had a defective battery (weak cell?) from the start, and it now showed its ugly head. I had a 2009 Mercedes C Class, and on the very first oil change service, the tech noted a weak cell and replaced the battery, so this is not a function of the price class of the vehicles.
- It is also possible that something in your vehicle is creating a constant, albeit slight, drain.

For all of the above reasons, when the tests and replaces the battery, also ask them if they find that the root cause was the battery, itself, or if they can identify anything causing the battery to drain.

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
Are those Subaru batteries are that crappy?.