Subaru Crosstrek and XV Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just going over my purchase documents and noticed that the amount I was charged for MaxCare, the brand name of Carmax's extended warranty, was almost $1,900--this on my 2013 XV with 74,100 miles. Is this worth it? Or would I be better served by just throwing some or all of that money into a rollover or no-penalty CD or something "just in case?"

My gut is telling me that in this case MaxCare is a bad deal, and I'm inclined to cancel it. I'm new to Subaru but know that Japanese cars broadly and Subaru more specifically tend to be quite reliable, but I wanted to see if anyone on the boards thought otherwise.

·
Prefers black cats
'18 and '19 Crosstrek Limiteds
12,144 Posts
Welcome! The community here is fairly evenly divided between those who think extended warranties are a good idea and those who think they are a waste of money. Personally, I think the genuine Subaru Gold extended warranty is a good idea, due to the cost of repairing or replacing all of the fancy electronics in these cars, these days. I would not bother with a third-party one.

·
Registered
2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info! I appreciate the candor. I didn't know that Subaru even offered its own extended warranty, but I will definitely look into it. Even though I got the car at Carmax, do you know if my local Subaru dealer would care if I just waltzed in the door and said, "I didn't buy my car here, but I want to buy a warranty" ...?

·
Prefers black cats
12,144 Posts
Sorry, I don't know how that works with older cars. The Gold warranty is available any time until the factory warranty expires at 3yrs/36Kmi. Try contacting SOA (Subaru of America).

·
Registered
2021 Base CVT Crosstrek
149 Posts