Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Subaru world.......just bought a '15 Crosstrek. I have read that Subarus are known for sometimes blowing head gaskets and was wondering if there was anything I could proactively do to try to prevent this

·
Super Moderator
8,379 Posts
The best proactive thing you can do is what you just did... not buying an EJ series engine as they were the ones known for the issue. The current FB series have had no known head gasket issues since it was introduced 6 years ago.

BTW> Welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
601 Posts
In my book the head gasket problem is just a myth.Along with my '16 Crosstrek,I still have my '02 Impreza OBS.It has 204k miles and has never had head gasket issues.Besides rusty control arms which were replaced under recall and a rusted subframe which was replaced with the control arms for the cost of the part,it has had no issues at all.If it were real then they would all have issues,which they clearly don't.A head gasket can fail on any engine,at any time,no matter the make,model or year.It's the luck of the draw.

·
Registered
1,275 Posts
A boxer has larger surface area-to-volume ratio. Unlike an in-line four, where the "hot" area (upper cylinder & head) is compact and nicely grouped, in a boxer you have two "hot" extremes separated by a "cool" block. This makes the design much more complicated in terms of keeping tight tolerances in light of differential thermal expansion. In a boxer it is nearly impossible to keep uniform temperatures across the cylinder / head area. Because the cylinder block is more compact in an in-line 4, it's easier to design a cooling system them will keep the entire block's temperature more uniform. The result is that in-line engines can operate within tighter tolerances.