Brake questions. Noob here!

1. Welcome to Subaru XV Crosstrek Forum General discussion forum for the Subaru XV

Welcome to Subaru XV Crosstrek Forum - a website dedicated to all things Subaru XV.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Subaru XV Crosstrek Forum today!
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By rlouie
  • 2 Post By CrossCanada

Thread: Brake questions. Noob here!

Brake questions. Noob here!

I have a 2014 Crosstrek. My inspection is coming up soon and think I may be due for some brakes. I figured I would take the car to my friends and do the brakes b4 the inspection.
    I am a total noob when it comes to brakes and will be the first time I have done brakes myself/with a friend.
    What are good / decent replacement brakes? So far I think I have decided on :
    Front: Akebono Proactive Ultra - Premium ceramic disc brake pads $72
    Rear: Akebono Proactive Ultra - Premium ceramic disc brake pads $43
    ........ Question?...... Should I replace the rotors as well???
    I saw a kit for the fronts: Power Stop Evolution Sport 1-Click Brake Kit $142(only found for front)
    Or Front Rotor: ProStop brake rotor $27
    Rear Rotor: Wagner E-Shield Brake Rotor $33

I drive probably 50/50 city/highway.... The car has about 42,000 miles on it now.... I do drive on some mountainy roads, so downhill stopping power is sorta important.
    Like I said I'm a total newb..... Should you replace rotors when you replace the pads??? Can u mix and match this stuff? Can I get PowerStop on fronts and Wagner on rears?
    Any tips or advice or opinions will be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you

2. Remove Advertisements