Windowing Tinting (Out-of-state CA Resident): Do it in TX or wait till I get to CA?

1. Welcome to Subaru XV Crosstrek Forum General discussion forum for the Subaru XV

Welcome to Subaru XV Crosstrek Forum - a website dedicated to all things Subaru XV.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Subaru XV Crosstrek Forum today!
+ Reply to Thread

QuestionWindowing Tinting (Out-of-state CA Resident): Do it in TX or wait till I get to CA?

Hi, I'm about to get another Crosstrek -premium with eyesight (had a 2013 Crosstrek Limited but had to give it away ); and I'm a out-of-state California resident living in Texas and I'm thinking of getting a tint here that conforms to the tint laws in California so that when I do go back to CA in the near future; I don't have to go to a tint shop there and be good?

But the question is, I don't know if its convenient and cheap to do it just here or just wait till I get back to CA, go to a tint shop there and I don't have to deal with the Cops saying its not within regs and have to pay money to change it? I'm kind of hesitate to do here in Texas.

Thanks.

P.S. its like $206 (with groupon) for all seven window tint at a highly rated shop on yelp; dont know if thats cheap or not.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Subaru XV Forum
    Advertisements

I had a shop do my car for $250. This was all glass and only a tiny strip (eyebrow) on the windshield. Seems like a pretty good rate. As long as you confirm by the laws anyone can do it. I don't know about CA but typically the laws are about light transmission.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Super Moderator